Switzerland

The Uetliberg

Day 3

Saturday was my penultimate day in Zurich. We had decided yesterday that we would take the train up to the Uetliberg. The Uetliberg is a mountain in the Swiss plateau, part of the Albis chain. It is 870 metres high and from the top city of Zurich and Lake Zurich can be seen.  The train ride there about 20 minutes.

We had breakfast at Steiner AG Flughafebeck. I have to say, although rather nice, and there are no complaints, it was not near as nice as Friday morning’s breakfast.

img_8274
Small breakfast platter

We had a long leisurely breakfast, where I tried to find out from my sister, what it was to be Swiss. In my head, I simply did not have a sense of Swiss culture. In my head I picture mountains and chocolate, cheese and clocks, watches and knives. Obviously Switzerland is more than that. It is not the first time I have been to  Switzerland. I last came here in 4 years ago, when my sister was living in Basel and we had a great time. Life was of course, for all of us, very different then.

Guten Tag

Yellow

Die Farbe Lila

Die Drey Scheenschte Daag

Before then, I travelled to Geneva in 11 years ago. So you’d think I might know by now!

 

We took the train up to the Uetliberg and took the ten minute walk from the station to the top. It was not the best day to do this. It was so cloudy and foggy!

img_8287

img_5535
Too foggy to see anything
img_5538
Yes, it was cold up there!

The top is called Uto Kolm and has a watch tower, TV tower and restaurant. We climbed the watch tower and looked down at the foggy view. We are the restaurant, a lovely warming soup. We then walked back down to the station and took the train back into town. It was perhaps a little disappointing but I am sure I will be back on better days. It is so easy to get to, so not the end of the world.

 

img_5542
A train track…
img_5543
The train on the track
img_8294
The timetable
img_8293
So neat and clean

Back at Zurich station, we came across this piece of art. I am not sure what it is meant to represent. A little internet research when I got home tells me that this angel was created by the French-Swiss painter and sculptor Niki de St Phalle. It is a gift from the artist for the station’s 150th anniversary and has been present since 1997.

img_8297
This guardian angel  has been watching over the people of Zurich, day and night for eleven years.
img_8301
It speaks to me of adventure

After our semi-successful trip to the mountains we then decided to go and explore the The Grossmünster (“great minster”) . It started raining as we arrived.  So took a few pictures of the impressive doors and rushed inside.

img_8304
The door handles

img_8305

img_8308
Ruth
img_8309
Bathsheba
img_8310
Maria

img_8311

img_8306
The view outside the Grossmunster

We didn’t stay long, the cold drove us home to a meal of pasta and cheese. The rest of the evening was spent watching the rest of the Scandal and then the first five episodes of ‘The Resident’. The Scandal episode included the crossover episode from ‘How to Get Away With Murder’. All in all a pretty nice day.

 

 

Leave a comment